The Tony Thurnham Award

The Tony Thurnham Award is named after Tony Thurnham, one of the founding members of IPEBLA as well as a past Chair of the Steering Committee and of the Conference Organising Committee.  The award is made for the article in the "International Pension Lawyer" (the International Journal produced by IPEBLA) over the two year period between IPEBLA conferences which the Journal Editor and Country Representatives consider to be the best article published during the two year period.

The authors who have been given this award and the associated articles are listed below:

For the period 2017 to 2019:

Kevin Walsh of Groom Law Group in the United States.

For the period 2015 to 2017:

Camilla Barry of Macfarlanes LLP in the United Kingdom.

For the period 2013 to 2015:

Jonathan Mort of Jonathan Mort Inc. in South Africa. 

For the period 2011 to 2013:

Greg Winfield and Mark Firman of McCarthy Tétrault LLP in Canada for their article in Volume 73 (October 2011) of the Journal entitled "Canadian Employee Life and Health Trusts Canada".

For the period 2009 to 2011:

Graham Wheeler of Ireland (now relocated to London) for his article in Volume 69 (April 2010) of the Journal entitled "Socially Responsible Investment".

For the period 2007 to 2009:

Caroline Helbronner and Jessica Bullock of Canada for their article in the November, 2008 Edition of the Journal "Plan sponsors and service providers – allocating risks and responsibilities".

For the period 2005 to 2007:

The Tony Thurnham award for this 2 year period goes to Howard Pianko for an excellent article in the March 2006 edition of the Journal titled "Perplexed by the Complex?  Consider the Non-US Multinational who encounters the New US Tax Law (Section 409A) Regulating Deferred Compensation".

For the period 2003 to 2005:

Advocate Malcolm Wallis (Senior Counsel) of South Africa for his article in the March 2004 edition of the Journal “Protecting members’ rights”.

For the period 2001 to 2003:

Mike Woodbury and David Cochrane of New Zealand for their article in the March 2002 edition of the Journal "Sharing, Married or Not – New Property (Relationships) Legislation in New Zealand".

For the period 1999 to 2001:

Michel Benoit and Josée Dumoulin of Canada for their article in the March 2000 edition of the Journal "Claims by Retirees to Surplus in Ongoing Plans: Recent Case Law".

Contact us:
1 Eglinton Ave. E., Suite 705
Toronto, ON, M4P 3A1, Canada  

Copyright | Disclaimer

©IPEBLA 2020

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software